New Board Members Elected at NAMM Annual Meeting of Members

January 17, 2009

NAMM held its Annual Meeting of Members today during the 2009 NAMM Show. After introducing past presidents in attendance, reviewing the new annual report and recapping highlights of the year, Chairman Chip Averwater called for the vote of the new slate of the NAMM Board of Directors. The following NAMM Members were elected for service from 2009 to 2012:

Dick Boak is the director of artist and public relations for C.F. Martin & Co., a guitar manufacturing company.

Jeff Falgien is the vice president/partner for Keyboard Concepts Inc, a five-store retailer of pianos.

Gary Forkum is the owner of Fork’s Drum Closet, an independent percussion retail store.

Kurt Listug is the co-founder and CEO of Taylor Guitars, a guitar manufacturer with 600 employees.

Phil Rich is the director of merchandise for the guitar department of Guitar Center, a full-line chain of music product retail stores.

Ray van Straten is director of entertainer solutions at QSC Audio Products, a pro-audio and sound reinforcement manufacturer.

Christopher White is the president and CEO of White House of Music, a six-store, full-line retail chain.

Rick Young is the senior vice president for Yamaha Corporation of America, a full-line manufacturer, and president of Yamaha Artist Services.

NAMM also said goodbye to the following outgoing board Members: Thomas Austin, Robert Eastman, Mathias von Heydekampf, Harvey Levy, Bill Mendello, Bill Reim, Jim Rupp and David Teeple.

About NAMM

The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) is the not-for-profit association with a mission to strengthen the $17 billion music products industry. NAMM is comprised of approximately 10,300 members located in 104 countries and regions. NAMM events and members fund The NAMM Foundation's efforts to promote the pleasures and benefits of music, and advance active participation in music making across the lifespan. For more information about NAMM, please visit, call 800.767.NAMM (6266) or follow the organization on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.